Genisis 25:21

Isaac prayed to the Lord on behalf of his wife, because she was barren. The  Lord answered his prayer, and his wife Rebekah became pregnant.

-Genisis 25:21 (NIV)

As Isaac pleaded with God for children, the Bible encourages us to ask and even plead for our most personal and important request. God wants to grant our requests, but he also wants us to ask him. God may decide to withhold his answer for a while in order to (1) Deepen our insight into what we really need. (2) Broaden our appreciation for his answers, or (3) allow us to mature so we can use his gifts more wisely. I can personally say that in the past before my walking with Christ, I used to just take everything for granted, and not really show God any appreciation. In loosing some of my thought of “prized possessions” I was able to grasp a lesson that can’t be taught by man, and obtain a deeper relationship with Christ. I know now that nothing in this world is bigger than the God I serve, and all good things come from God, I can now appreciate my blessings, and also thank God for them. I used to assume that God knew everything that I needed, so I never really asked Him. Since I’ve been making my request, and actually talking with God, and discussing with him the things I need, or want, I find out sooner if what I want is actually what I need. You may want something so badly, but it may not be good for you, by asking God for it, he can tell you rather than put you through hard times in order for you to actually know. Now that I have everything back that I lost, I realize that things I used to cherish never meant anything to me, and that true satisfaction is with Christ! What do you cherish the most? Is it of God? Do you thank Him for your blessings?

May God Bless You All!

Leave a Reply

