Alex Clare – Too Close

“You know I’m not one to break promises,
I don’t want to hurt you but I need to breathe.
At the end of it all, you’re still my best friend,
But there’s something inside that I need to release.
Which way is right, which way is wrong,
How do I say that I need to move on?
You know we’re heading separate ways.

And it feels like I am just too close to love you,
There’s nothing I can really say.
I can’t lie no more, I can’t hide no more,
Got to be true to myself.
And it feels like I am just too close to love you,
So I’ll be on my way.”

– Alex Clare

This song speaks multitudes for me, you ever felt like you need to love someone from afar, a distance? In relationships, you take on two identities, yours, and your significant other’s. You have to do a lot of bending and must become flexible in many areas of your life. When all you used to have to was worry about were your own emotions, you have to take on your partners emotions as well. For men, it CAN be a little harder, we have intentions on loving, but when we feel its not right, we don’t stay, and its easy for us to move on. Meanwhile the female is stuck with attachments and can’t never seem to get there mind off what used to be. This song speaks because I feel like just in the first verse Alex is saying I’ve lost myself, all while not trying to hurt you, I need to separate myself before I become a ghost in this relationship. What female wants to be just “friends” after what was, is no longer? On to the chorus, he’s saying, I’m too close to love you, so let me love you from afar. WOW I’ve also found my new found attraction to dubstep. Enjoy the lyrics and the song! I hope this helped at least one person!

 

2 thoughts on “Alex Clare – Too Close

Leave a Reply

