Good Morning | Spiritual Discipline

Thursday (Summer)

I can recall back when I would get disciplined by my parents and not understand why they were disciplining me, ultimately resenting them for there action. However as a child, I wasn’t realizing what I’ve done to get disciplined, I was only noticing the repercussion. Later in life, as an adult, I look back on my childhood, and think, “wow”, I see why my parents did that, they saved me, they taught me, they trained me.

We sometimes have to think of spiritual discipline in the same way. In God’s eyes, were immature, children, that don’t know right from wrong. God teaches us so that we can be seen as strong, mature and righteous followers of His Kingdom.

My son, do not despise the Lord’s discipline and do not resent his rebuke, because the Lord disciplines those he loves, as a father the son he delights in.”

Proverbs 3:11,12 (NIV)

Know then in your heart that as a man disciplines his son, so the Lord your God disciplines you.

Deuteronomy 8:5 (NIV)

And you have forgotten that word of encouragement that addresses you as sons: “My son, do not make light of the Lord’s disciplines, and do not loose heart when he rebukes you, because the Lord disciplines those he loves, and he punishes everyone he accepts as a son.” Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as sons. For what son is not disciplined by his father? If you are not disciplined (and everyone undergoes discipline), then you are illegitimate children and not true sons.

Hebrews 12:5-8 (NIV)

Blessed is the man you discipline, O Lord, the man you teach from your law.

Psalm 94:12 (NIV)

Blessed is the man whom God corrects so do not despise the discipline of the almighty.

Job 6:17 (NIV)

If the above verses don’t explain that disciplinary acts from God aren’t nothing but love, I don’t know what will…

Discipline means to teach and train. Of course the word discipline sounds negative, this is because discipline is rooted to the word punishment. God, however, is the source of all love. He doesn’t punish us because he enjoys inflicting pain, but because he is deeply concerned about our maturity in him. In order to become morally strong, we must learn the difference between right and wrong. His loving discipline enables us to do that.

It’s difficult to know when God has been disciplining us until we look back on the situation later. If we rebel against God and refuse to repent when God has identified some sin in our lives, he may use guilt, crisis, or bad experiences to bring us back to him. Personally, I have had several experiences when I knew what I was doing was wrong. I even had times when I felt a tug within me, pulling me away from sin. This is God’s loving Holy spirit working in us, teaching us.

When God corrects you, see it as proof of his love and ask him what he is trying to teach you. When going through spiritual discipline we can:

  1. Accept it with self-pity, thinking we really don’t deserve it. 
  2. We can be angry and resentful toward God.
  3. We can accept it gratefully, as the appropriate response we owe a loving father. 

So, next time you feel that God is just hammering down on you for no reason, look at yourself, evaluate your sins. Repent, thank God for his teachings and move on, attaining God’s law.

Peace, Love, Happiness

Zeven

Leave a Reply

